Skip to main content.

Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries

Character Size

About Codex

CCASIA FAO/WHO Coordinating Committee for Asia

(1) Overview 

The Codex Alimentarius Commission was created in 1963 by FAO and WHO to develop food standards, guidelines and related texts such as codes of practice under the Joint FAO/WHO Food Standards Program. The main purposes are protecting the health of the consumers, ensuring fair practices in the food trade, and promoting coordination of all food standards work undertaken by international governmental and non-governmental organizations.

(2) Structure 

Organization chart of the Codex Alimentarius Commission


(3) Members 

Currently the Codex Alimentarius Commission has:

186 Codex Members - 185 Member Countries and 1 Member Organization (EU)

216 Codex Observers - 49 IGOs, 151 NGOs, 16 UN.





CCASIA Secretariat:
Food Safety and Consumer Policy Division
Food Safety and Consumer Affairs Bureau
Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries

Tel: +81-3-3502-8732
Fax: +81-3-3507-4232