Skip to main content.

Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries

Character Size

The Winners of the Minister's Awards for Overseas Promotion of Japanese Food

The Winners of the Seventh Annual Minister's Awards for Overseas Promotion of Japanese Food


The Minister's Award for Overseas Promotion of Japanese Food is awarded to persons who have made outstanding contributions to the introduction and spread of Japanese cuisine, Japanese food and other Japanese agricultural and fishery products overseas. Its purpose is to further expand exports of Japanese agricultural, fishery and food products. Both foreign nationals and Japanese nationals residing overseas are eligible.

The Eleventh Award Winners’Profiles


Owner, Restaurant Hiroshima

 Hiroo Oda

Profile(PDF : 251KB)


President, Mission francaise du patrimoine et des cultures alimentaires(MFPCA)
Professor emeritus, Paris-Sorbonne University (University of Paris D.)


Owner, Restaurant DARUMA,
Senior Adviser, the Nichiboku Kyokai(Mexican Japanese Association)


Member, Executive Council of the HKSAR
Member, Legislative Council of the HKSAR
Chairman, Hong Kong Catering Industry Association
Honorary President, Hong Kong Japanese Food and Cuisine Association
Honorary President, The Hong Kong Food Council
Honorary President, Hong Kong Wine & Spirits Industry Coalition
Member of the University Council, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Tommy Cheung Yu Yan


President, T.I.C. Restaurant Group

Shuho Bon Yagi

Profile(PDF : 176KB)


Supported by

Intellectual Property Strategy Headquarters, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry

Past Award Winner's Profiles 

The Tenth Award Winners’Profiles

Culinary journalist

Yumiko Aihara

Profile(PDF : 122KB)

CEO of Shanghai Daling Food Co.,Ltd
CEO of Shanghai Nagashin-uoyichi Co.,Ltd
Vice Director of Japanese Cuisine Committee
Of China Hotel Association
Honorary President of ECMA
(Eite Catering Management Association)

Zeng Bo

Owner Chef of Miyabi

Darja Kawasumiová

Profile(PDF : 120KB)

Jun Pacific Corporation Pty. Ltd., Corporate Adviser

Seijiro Funayama

Profile(PDF : 131KB)

Chairman of Deysan International Co., Ltd

David Dingsan Lin



The Nineth Award Winner's Profiles

Kinji Kobayashi

Deputy-General Manager & Executive Chef, Beijing Kurazen Co.,Ltd.
Director of the World Association of Chinese Cuisine

Kinji Kobayashi


Tsuneyasu Kondo

 Management Advisor of NIPPON-YA, a Japanese food store

 Tsuneyasu Kondo

Shiu Ha May Choi

Managing Director of Sun Wah Japanese Food Ltd.
Managing Director of the Nishimura Japanese Restaurant chain group

 Shiu Ha May Choi


Tetsuro Hama

Owner of So Restaurant, Owner of Sozai Cooking School
Chairman of Japanese Culinary Academy UK
Board Member of the Japan Society                           

 Tetsuro Hama


Muneaki Fukasawa

Chef and owner of Fuji

 Muneaki Fukasawa


The Eighth Award Winner's Profiles

Shinya Koike

 Owner, Restaurant “Aizomê” and Restaurant “Sakagura A1” 

Shinya Koike



 Owner, Restaurant “Nonbe Daigaku”                                   

 Yousuke Suetsugu


 Owner, Japanese restaurant“Nihonbashi”

 Dharshan Munidasa



President, MKK IMPORT                            

 Hidejiro Matsu



UK-Japan communication expert, Sake Promoter
UK Liaison for Japan Sake and Shochu Makers Association
UK representative for Sake Samurai Association

 Rie Yoshitake


The Seventh Award Winner's Profiles

Ryuko Abe


 Ryuko Abe


Fumio Ito

 Dream Team Dusseldorf GmbH Advisor 

 Fumio Ito 

Reiko Jinyama

 Japanese Bento/Catering Establishment ‘Jinya’ Catering Business Owner

 Reiko Jinyama 

Shinji Tanaka

 New Style Restaurant ‘TANAKA’ Restaurant Owner                            

 Shinji Tanaka


Yosuke Jay O Honjo

 ITO EN (USA) Inc. President & CEO 

 Yosuke Jay O Honjo 

The Sixth Award Winner's Profiles

Akira Ohshima

 Advisor & Honorary Executive Chief Japanese Restaurants

 Akira Ohshima


Teruo Oyama


 Teruo Oyama 

Oded Kalif

 President, East & West Import & Marketing Ltd

 Oded Kalif 

Masaharu Morimoto

 The owner of Japanese Restaurants "MORIMOTO" etc.

 Masaharu Morimoto


Haruhisa Yamamoto

 Ex-President,Denver Tofu Company 

 Haruhisa Yamamoto 


The Fifth Award Winner's Profiles

Ryuji Ishii

 President,AFC Corporation

 Ryuji Ishii

Toru Iwasaki

 Director and President,Tozan Group/President, Tozan Farm

 Toru Iwasaki

Chow Sing Mo

 President, Nikken's Japanese Food Co., Ltd.

 Chow Sing Mo

Richard Hosking

 Food culture researcher

 Richard Hosking

Keiko Muto

 "kei" Japanese restaurant

 Keiko Mutoh


The Fourth Award Winner's Profiles

Date/Time: Monday June 29, 2009, 13時00分-15時00分 Venue: Annex 5F Royal Hall, Grand Prince Hotel Akasaka

katoManaging Director,DAISHO (Thailand) Co., Ltd. 
Hideki Kato 


komiyama Operator of "Iwao Sushi & Cuisine," a Japanese catering service and Japanese food consultancy
Iwao Komiyama


tomeCEO, "Sushi Ran" Japanese restaurant 
Yoshimori Tome 


nogawaCEO, owner-Chef, "NOGAWA" Japanese restaurant 
Yoshio Nogawa 


miyamaeOwner, "KAMAKURA" Japanese restaurant 
Hajime Miyamae 



The Third Award Winner's Profiles

Date/Time: Friday June 20, 2008, 13時00分-15時00分 Venue: Annex 5F Royal Hall, Grand Prince Hotel Akasaka

Yasuo KumodaChairman and CEO, Frec Food Inc.
Yasuo Kumoda


Toshiro KonishiOwner of Japanese restaurant “Toshiro’s Mandalay”
Toshiro Konishi


Tai Tak FungChairman, Four Seas Mercantile Holdings Ltd.
Tai Tak Fung



Markus HastenpflugPresident, Shimodozono International GmbH
Markus Hastenpflug


Kunio YonedaPresident of the Japanese Chef Association, United States Branch
Kunio Yoneda



The Second Award Winner's Profiles

Date/Time: Friday May 25, 2007, 13時30分-15時30分 Venue: Room Sekiei, Grand Prince Hotel Akasaka

Nobuyuki MatsuhisaOwner of restaurant “Matsuhisa”
Nobuyuki Matsuhisa


クリストファー・ドウソン氏Chairman, Clearspring Ltd.
Christopher Dawson 


Hideo DekuraShijo-ryu (school of Japanese cuisine) master chef and Japanese cuisine specialist
Hideo Dekura 


Noritoshi KanaiPresident, Mutual Trading Co., Inc.
Noritoshi Kanai


Yoshikuni KinebuchiOwner of Japanese restaurants “Furinkazan” & “Restaurant Kei”
Yoshikuni Kinebuchi



The First Award Winner's Profiles

      Date/Time: Wednesday May 31, 2006, 14時00分-16時00分 Venue: Room Fuyo East, Hotel New Otani Tokyo

Shirley BoothLecturer, the Asian and Oriental School of Catering in London

Shirley Booth


Frankie P WuPresident, Aji-No-Chinmi Co., (Hong Kong) Ltd.

Frankie P. Wu


Nobuyoshi KuraokaOwner & President, Wako International Corp.

Nobuyoshi Kuraoka





For further information, please contact:
Export Promotion Division
Food Industry Affairs Bureau
Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries
Telephone: +81-3-3502-8111 (ext. 4330)
Direct line: +81-3-6744-7045

Some of the publications on this site are in PDF.
To view them you will need to have Adobe Reader.
Please download Adobe Reader.

Get Adobe Reader