Skip to main content.

Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries

Character Size

JAS system - Third party certification

  JAS Act
Certification System
- List of CBs
- Outline of required formalities for CB
Organic JAS
- Standards
- Technical criteria
- Export of organic foods to Japan 
- Organic equivalency
  List of Standards
  JAS Movie
  Japanse Website(日本語)
[External Link]

The JAS system is a third-party certification system. The Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries (MAFF) is the scheme owner of JAS. It accreditates certification bodies and laboratories, according to ISO 17011. In this process, technical assessment is performed by the Food and Agricultural Materials Inspection Center (FAMIC), which is the agency in close cooperation with MAFF, to ensures the quality and proper labeling of agricultural, forestry, and fishery products.

The certification body accredited by MAFF certifies business operators, such as farmers and food companies. This certification is conducted in accordance with ISO standards, such as ISO17065 and ISO17021. 

It checks whether the operator produces products or service meeting the criteria in JAS so that the good quality or service would be assured under the JAS system.

Also, the Testing Business Operator accredited by MAFF can issue the test report with the JAS symbol. Such Testing Business Operator meets the ISO 17025. It means that it has appropriate analytical abilities by becoming the Accredited Testing Business Operator under the JAS system.

The JAS system contributes to improve the reliability of products, service and test results.


List of CBs

Outline of required formalities for AOCB



Standards and Conformity Assessment Policy Office, Food Manufacture Affairs Division,
New Bussiness and Food Industry Department, Minister's Secretariat,
Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries

Some of the publications on this site are in PDF.
To view them you will need to have Adobe Reader.
Please download Adobe Reader.

Get Adobe Reader